Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Awards: Anne Charles Award
Share |

Anne Charles Award

The Anne Charles Award for Distinguished Service is presented to a member of the NABE Communications Section who exemplifies long term excellence in mentoring, advising, and supporting the section and its members. By regularly offering their expertise and encouragement, an Anne Charles Award winner contributes to the professional development of their fellow members, helps ensure the vitality of the section, and stimulates diversity of thoughts and contributions.

Any member of NABE may submit a nominee for consideration.

Who was Anne Charles?

The award is named for the late Anne Charles, director of communications at the State Bar of California, who served the Section by chairing committees, serving on the Executive Council, mentoring new members, and representing the Section’s interest with the NABE Board of Directors.

Award Recipients

  • 2019 Marilyn Cavicchia, American Bar Association
  • 2018 Brandon Vogel, New York State Bar Association
  • 2017 Sayre Happich, Bar Association of San Francisco
  • 2016 Dan Wise, New Hampshire Bar Association
  • 2015 Ann Murphy, Bar Association of San Francisco
  • 2014 Judson Haverkamp, Minnesota State Bar Association
  • 2013 Samuel Lipsman, Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • 2012 Stephanie Abbott, Clark County Bar Association
  • 2011 John Sirman, State Bar of Texas
  • 2010 No winner
  • 2009 David Simms, D.C. Bar Association
  • 2008 Ken Brown, Ohio State Bar Association
  • 2006 Toby Brown, Utah State Bar
  • 2005 Yvonne McGhee, Fairfax Bar Association (VA)
  • 2004 Anne Scarle, Baton Rouge Bar Association (LA)
  • 2003 Roger Parris, Bar Association of Erie County (NY)
  • 2002 Paul Nickell, Oregon State Bar
  • 2001 Arlene Abady, Colorado Bar Association


All NABE Communications Section members are eligible, except current members of the Communications Section Executive Council.  Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Significant and consistent participation in Section volunteer activities
  • Furthering of the Section’s goals through frequent work on committees and other related activities such as being a participant of the workshop planning committee, a task force member, a contributor to the newsletter, substantive contributions to the listserve, and other Section-related work
  • Serving as a welcoming colleague and mentor to members of the Section, either publicly, or privately

Back to top

2019 Nomination Form and Steps

    The NABE Communications Section is accepting nominations for the 2019 Anne Charles Award. Please follow the link below to submit a nomination no later than August 19, 2019.

    2019 Anne Charles Award Nomination Form >>

    A committee appointed by the chair of the Section will review the nominations and recommend a recipient to the Executive Council for approval.

    The award may be presented each year at the discretion of the Committee. More than one recipient may be selected at the discretion of the Committee. The nominee will be presented the award at the 2019 NABE Communications Section Workshop in Cleveland.


    For information about the current Anne Charles Award, contact Brandon Vogel.

    Back to top

    National Association of Bar Executives
    c/o ABA Division for Bar Services
    321 N. Clark St., 17th Floor
    Chicago, IL 60654
    (312) 988-5408