Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Awards: Bolton Award for Outstanding Bar Leadership
Share |

Bolton Award for Outstanding Bar Leadership

The Bolton Award, NABE's highest accolade, is presented annually to a bar executive who epitomizes the highest standard of professional excellence. The Bolton Award is presented every other year, alternating with the Peer Excellence Award, which is presented in even years.

It is named in honor of Fred Bolton, executive director and secretary of the Pennsylvania Bar Association from 1966 to 1977.

Recent Award Recipients

  • 2019 Zoe Linza, Missouri
  • 2018 Elizabeth Derrico, New York
  • 2017 George Brown, Wisconsin
  • 2016 John Norwine, Ohio
  • 2015 Roseanne Lucianek, Illinois 
  • 2014 Evelyn Albert, Pennsylvania
  • 2013 Bill Weisenberg, Ohio
  • 2012 Jack Lockridge, Virginia
  • 2011 Larry Houchins, Mississippi
  • 2010 Allan Head, North Carolina
  • 2009 Bob Wells, South Carolina
  • 2008 Tom Pyrz, Indiana
  • 2007 Tom Edmonds, Virginia
  • 2006 Denny Ramey, Ohio

Please click here for a full list of Bolton Award recipients [PDF]


All active NABE members in good standing, excluding NABE board members, are eligible for nomination.  Nominees need not be executive directors.  Nominations submitted in the prior two years will automatically be reconsidered.  Individuals nominating must be NABE members in good standing.  While the criteria below will be used to select the recipient of the Bolton Award, each and every criteria need not be met.

  • Professionalism, character, and integrity
  • Vision and leadership
  • Service to the legal profession
  • Managerial ability
  • Development of bar staff
  • Providing cutting edge programs for members
  • Improvements in the administration of justice
  • Entrepreneurship and creativity
  • Warmth, friendliness, and camaraderie
  • Service within NABE generally

Nomination Form

Nomination form available here. In addition, nominations may be supported by video submissions by supplying the URL to the supporting material on the nomination form.


For information about the current Bolton Award, contact:

Emma Buell
Program Assistant

321 N. Clark Street, 17th Floor
Chicago, IL  60654-7598
(312) 988-5408

Back to top

National Association of Bar Executives
c/o ABA Division for Bar Services
321 N. Clark St., 17th Floor
Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 988-5408