Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Communications: Leadership
Share |

Section Leadership: Communications

NABE is a volunteer-led organization. Meet the people who make the organization what it is. 


  • Dominick Alcid, Chair,Federal Bar Association
  • Sarah Coole, Chair-elect, State Bar of Georgia
  • Tracey DeMarea, Treasurer, Johnson County Bar Association
  • Jessica D. Smith, Secretary, Dallas Bar Association
  • Tim Eigo, Immediate Past Chair, State Bar of Arizona

Council Members

  • Lowell Brown (2020), State Bar of Texas
  • Brian Knavish (2020), Allegheny County Bar Association
  • Suzanne Craig Robertson (2020), Tennessee Bar Association
  • Hannah K. Frevert (2021), The Missouri Bar
  • Nick Hansen (2021), Hennepin County Bar Association


  • Kevin Ryan, Board Liaison, Monroe County Bar Association and Foundation (NY)
  • Rebecca Green-Jablonsky, Staff Liaison, ABA Division for Bar Services

Back to top


Anne Charles Award Committee

The Anne Charles Award for Distinguished Service is presented to a member of the NABE Communications Section who has made a significant contribution to advancing the goals of the Section through committee service or other Section volunteer efforts. The award recognizes the "unsung heroes” who have shared their time and expertise on behalf of the Section. The committee reviews nominations and recommends a recipient to the Executive Council for approval. The award may be presented each year at the discretion of the Committee. More than one recipient may be selected at the discretion of the Committee.

NABE Comm News Committee

This committee recruits authors, collects news, and produces newsletter for the Section. Articles cover programming from NABE meetings, the Section workshop, and other areas of interest to bar communicators and executives.

Luminary Awards Committee

NABE Communications Section’s Luminary Awards recognize the outstanding work among bar communications professionals nationwide. The Communication Section thanks Fastcase for the generous support of these awards. The committee organizes the call for entries, judging, and works with Fastcase on the awards presentations.

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee coordinates outreach and membership recruitment activities on behalf of the Communications Section. Activities may include updating the recruitment brochure, contacting new and potential members.

Nominating Committee

This committee recruits and nominates a slate of officers and council members annually for election.

E. A. "Wally" Richter Award Committee

The E. A. "Wally" Richter Award is given to an individual who is a member of the NABE Communications Section "For outstanding achievement in the field of communications, for extraordinary service to colleagues in the National Association of Bar Executives, and for distinguished leadership of the Communications Section.” The committee reviews nominations and recommends a recipient to the Executive Council for approval. The award may be presented each year at the discretion of the Committee.

Scholarship Committee

This committee publicizes and selects recipients of NABE Communications Section scholarships for the annual workshop. The committee works with the Executive Council regarding the number of scholarships available.

Sponsorship Committee

Ths Sponsorship Committee works with the Workshop Committee to identify and solicit sponsors and exhibitors for annual Workshops. 

Website Committee

The Website Committee will coordinate the updating of content on the Communications Section area website. The committee will review current content and make suggestions for improvement. Their goal is make the website a useful resource for its members.


If you would like to join a NABE committee, please contact Tim Eigo,


Network when you join this section.  Share your experience with other communications professionals.


Back to top


<< Back

National Association of Bar Executives
c/o ABA Division for Bar Services
321 N. Clark St., 17th Floor
Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 988-5408